Visting the Desert In Japan

We went to the dunes in Japan. This is the itty-bittchibi desert of Tottori.

DSC09816

The sky was steely and threatened to drop more rain at any moment. I’ve not felt sand this beautiful and fine since California. It had rained earlier that day so it was very soft and stickier than normal.

I actually love wet sand.  Is that strange?

DSC09811

Just look at those beautiful sand grands, so light and fluffy.

DSC09832

The waves crashed steadily against the shore. The wind was cool, but not cold.

DSC09838

Words cannot describe how much I wanted a sled and to just to “woo-hoo” down the side of this. I wanted to relive my childhood visit to White Sands in Colorado where we went rolling down the dunes.  I had to remind myself I was in too nice of a dress, yet I was tempted.

DSC09853

It’s pretty well-trodden.  I wish I could see the Sahara. It must be glorious at sunrise and sunset to see endless dunes that fade into a golden horizon.  I loved Frank Herbert’s Dune because of the world of Arakis, a place covered in endless dunes.

I wasn’t upset at all that it wasn’t sunny. I actually loved the silver skies and their contract to the bright yellow of the sand.

DSC09856

Others have come this way before, but I will make my own path.

10 thoughts on “Visting the Desert In Japan

  1. Pingback: The Sand Museum In Totori – geekstravelinjapan

Leave a Reply

