Cleaning Out My Walk-In Closet

Maybe getting hooked on shows like this inspired me…

It took hours to clean out my walk-in closet.  I went through the clothing, matching up what worked and what didn’t.  I’ve now divided up what clothes I’ll try to sell at the thrift store and what just need to be thrown away. It’s a carefully divided set of piles occupying the hallway currently.

(There is no form of Goodwill that I know of in Japan.  Otherwise, I’d happily donate a lot of clothes.  They also mainly want brand names, of which I have almost none, but I’ll see what they say.)  

I’m like my mother though, when I do get stuff organized and arranged I just have to show it off.  So here you go, the fruit of my labor:

DSC09139

DSC09135

The cracked-open drawers are my way of marking ones that are still empty. That charcoal picture on the drawer is something I did with pastels when I was sixteen for my art class.  What do you think?

The part that took the longest was matching up my clothing sets. One of the reasons I’ve not been good at fashion over the years is that I don’t take time to figure out  what works and what doesn’t.  I usually just toss stuff on.

This time I went through and matched tops that work with the bottoms. Now I can toss pre-thought-about stuff on.  It’s a win-win.

DSC09137

See?  The white pants matches the shirts such as the green tye-dye and that panama-blue long-sleeve ect.

No more thinking required!  It’s all taken care of.

The next challenge will be my husband’s closet.  He’s a bit of a hoarder when it comes to things like clothes and appliances.  Even though he hasn’t worn something in years he hates to get rid of it because what if he wears it again.

(It doesn’t matter if it’s yellowed and has a funny smell — you never know!)

However, his business suits are now out of my closet and stuffed into his.  I’ve plenty of work ahead with the next challenge.

His closet:

DSC09140

7 thoughts on “Cleaning Out My Walk-In Closet

  1. YOU HAVE A WALK IN CLOSET?!?!? IN JAPAN?!?! Also you can donate a bag of clothes to H&M and they’ll give you a coupon. No brand names required. Also, you can take stuff to Uniqlo too but I heard they only want Uniqlo brand (but I took other brands there before. 😦)

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Oh nice. The walk-in closet in my apartment is the first one I’ve ever had in my life. Nowhere I lived did I ever have one before. They’re great aren’t they?

        Yes, I’ll definitely have to check out the H&M thing.

        Like

Leave a Reply

