Why Japanese Hotels Save Space On Packing

If you ask me, packing is the worst part about traveling.

Nothing, not even “10 Travel Hacks To Make Packing Fun”, have ever made me want to pack. In the end, I just toss stuff into a suitcase and push hard until I can latch it shut.

Remember, sitting on the suitcase is a space-saver. The seams are sturdy; they’ll hold. If you must, bounce on it a few times. Your significant other may stare at you with a look of — who did I marry? — as  you struggle to fit everything in and close it, but you’ll always know:

You: 1

Luggage: 0

Traveling in Japan creates space.

How you might ask?

Well, by ridding you of the need to pack towels and a good chunk of toiletry items. In fact, with fewer liquids to carry you lower your risk of something bursting as you body slam that suitcase into closing.

No more need to waste time packing those items in plastic bags in case they do spill.

See?  That’s a time-saver and it’s better for the environment!

So how does Japan do it?

This is a picture of a hotel we stayed at in Hokkaido during Golden Week.
bed1bed4

Nothing is more relaxing than the right atmosphere in a hotel room.

bed3

Most Japanese hotels do the twin single beds.  I’ve stayed at very few that had a queen bed.

view

It had a lovely view.

(I think I’ve posted that on my facebook before. So peaceful.  They even did a firework display at night that can viewed in the video.)

My favorite thing to do at Japanese hotels and ryokans is to throw on the yukata and slippers. Then I go waddling around in those ill-fitting slippers, but it’s so nice having a set of clothes that I can wear around in the evening. They are loose fitting so you can really just relax and unwind.

Yukata

Don’t mind my feet there.  Since it was winter I’ve not had my toenails done.  I’m thinking of doing something before summer.

This hotel had a really nice onsen area.

It seems like the nice hotels in Japan always include yukata, slippers, a bathhouse, tea and snacks in the room, and a table for you to sit and look out over the view.  There is a great emphasis on relaxing.

The showers are not as useful, in fact I’ve rarely used the showers at most hotels because I just bathe in the onsen.  I almost never bring my own soaps, shampoos, or conditioners when I travel because the hotels have their own.  It saves space on packing for more important things like… *cough* …  clothes?

bed2

Look at all that is provided.  At most hotels and ryokans a hairdryer is provided, along with towels and a little bag with a toothbrush, disposable hair brush (that I always keep), mouth wash, and more. In the bathhouses are shampoos, conditions, body wash, facial wash, and moisturizers.

Since living in Japan I haven’t packed anything but a small towel in ages.  I remember in Texas often having to pack a towel. I am surprised when I hear a person packed a hair dryer.

Why?  Isn’t there one  in your room?

Even when car camping, I don’t have to worry because the bathhouses at road stops have shampoo, conditioner, and moisturizer and hair dryers.

A lot might even provide dinner and lunch.

view2

You can see the hotel cafeteria in the bottom.  That’s where they provided an amazing buffet that included a chocolate and a cheese buffet area (I may have been the cause of a shortage of gouda…)

Either way, there are things I take for granted these days in Japan.

bed5

 

7 thoughts on “Why Japanese Hotels Save Space On Packing

  1. In Japan, we think you get what you pay for. And it comes with a standard, evenly applied across entire industries – such as hotels or ryokans. So you know what you’ll be getting. Its quite unlike in the west where one might find huge variations in amenities. The price does not mean anything! LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  2. yeah it’s so handy when hotels provide stuff such as little shampoo and shower gels! It sounds like in Japan they provide way more than the standard. I think in Europe it depends on the hotel rating. Like in order for a hotel to say it has a five star rating, they have to provide certain things such as a hair dryer. So most 4 star hotels would have stuff but a three star might not.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Really? That’s so interesting. Even at the cheaper business hotels, they always have a hairdryer, but you just have to use it in the public bath. Maybe it’s because of the shared bathing that you can still get access to those things in Japan.

      Like

Leave a Reply

