Regular? That’s Irregular For Me

This is a post about infertility.


I’ve never been a “regular” girl.  My cycle just around between 24 days to 30 days.  It almost never does more or less than that.  From what I read, that’s still bad.

However, I don’t have PCOS and I’ve never had that.

This last five months have been like this: 28/20/33/26/26.

Going back for years I do seem to stick on the 26/27 days range for cycles more often than not.

I knew the beginning of this cycle would be awful. I could feel it.  And I was right.  This should be Day Hell.  I broke down and took painkillers.  However, I am grateful it waited until after the weekend to really hit like a hammer.

I always keep Monday as my day off.  No work or anything and I almost never go out.  I think having a day for catching up on chores is important.  However, there will be no catching up on anything as I try to watch movies and wait for the suffering to be over.

So we begin a new cycle of disappointment.  I’ll be going to the clinic to see how high my FSH is this time.  I don’t have much hope of better results, but I’ve eaten vegetables, vitamins and tried to exercise.

We’ll see what happens.  However, if I’m also 26 days next month and the one after then I’ll officially have run regular for four months in a row which would be quite irregular for me.

Here’s hoping for some regularity.

10 thoughts on “Regular? That’s Irregular For Me

    1. I have andenomyosis badly in my uterus which causes the pain. Japanese medicines are usually quite weak in my opinion but their pain medication seems to work quite well. I don’t need much for it to stop hurting thankfully. Just one pill will last a whole day for me and I’ll feel fine again.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I was an “absolute irregular” years ago until I was diagnosed with PCOS in 2013 (I was 23 at the time). My OB strongly suggested me to go on pill to “regularize” my period and get rid of the terrible pain. Thank God, I’ve been better. So, I believe you’ll be fine. Just go see a doctor if something feels wrong.^^

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good to be getting more regular. 26 days is short though (would imply low progesterone I think). My cycles used to be very regular 29 days but since doing IVF, they are anything from 25-33 days now. Remind me which supplements you’ve been taking? Before this IVF cycle I took DHEA, coq10, vitamin D, omega3, folic acid /pregnacare. Plus melatonin now. I’ve heard of some women seeing improvement after cutting out dairy and gluten so I’ve been trying that too. I hope you get some more good quality eggs! best of luck x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, it’s also because of when they’ve been taking the egg out of the follicle so it does shorten the cycle since they try to take the egg out on day 12 or 13. So I had a full luteal phase of (14- 15 days).

      The shortness is just because they usually attempt pump up things with some hormones and try to take the egg earlier since they don’t want to risk losing it to ovulation.

      I’ve been taking the vitamins. I still eat yogurt and *some* sweet though I have tried to cut back.

      My results are definitely getting better.

      Thank you for the fond wishes.

      Like

  3. Ah, I’m sorry it’s so irregular for you! My cycles are irregular too… Anywhere from 28-35. Quite frustrating! I tracked them on an app for years and it would predict when they’d come – usually quite close to what actually happened. Hope everything goes well for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

