Zelda: Breath of the Wild

If you are in Japan the new Zelda game is a phenomena.  There is a high competition to get a Nintendo Switch and the new game.  It should die down eventually, but I have a couple friends still competing the Saturday Bic Camera lottery to get one.

I was fine waiting until demand died down, but my husband had to get one.  Once he sets his mind on something, it will happen.  And it happened.  

I used to play video games a lot when I was younger.  My brother and I would pool our birthday and Christmas money to get games.  Our Christmas present was sometimes a joint “game console” since our parents put a limit on how expensive presents we could get.  (We had a $100 limit apiece) so we would combine our limit for a game console.

Sometimes we’d get surprised with extra gifts because my mom didn’t just want one gift under the tree.

Around fifteen or sixteen, my game playing died off and I moved onto other things.  I learned to play chess and the game of Go in college.  I became an asian drama fanatic.

When I moved to Japan, I only got a portable nintendo game console to play old games out of nostalgia. I hardly ever play new games, or games at all anymore.  I suppose I feel like I don’t get that much out of them nowadays.

Then my husband succeeded in getting this and now I’m hooked.  The game is so beautiful and its game world is fun to explore.

I remember coming home to see my husband playing it. It felt like the Christmas years back when my brother and I hastily unwrapped our new game console and carried it off to the TV to play.  Our parents were like, “won’t you open the other presents?”

“Other presents?” we asked dumbly.

She made us unwrap everything before we could test out the console.

Seeing Zelda brought back that long-forgotten feeling.

I must confess I also like to watch others play games. Some people don’t get that, why do you want to watch someone else. Isn’t the fun in playing?  I suppose as a middle child, I often enjoyed watching my dad or brother play.  I’d be the one with the gameplay manual, helping direct him, tense if he’d manage to unlock the level.

I loved watching others play before I ever learned to enjoy playing myself.  Both make me happy as it feels like a team effort when you watch someone else.  “Oh, there’s a dungeon down there!  You’ve almost got him!  One more hit!” I’ll cry from the side.

Sitting beside my husband brought back those memories of helping my dad and brother in his games. The familiar feeling of a team effort in the game play.

Anyhow, we have the Zelda game and it is glorious!

5 thoughts on “Zelda: Breath of the Wild

  1. That sounds fun! I remember my brother and I getting a Nintendo for Christmas one year. He played it way more than me though. I enjoyed the super mario go karting game as you could play it with lots of players. I think gaming is more fun when you can do it in a group. My sister got me into The Sims pc game! I got really into it for awhile but now I rarely play it as when I have free time I’d rather read or watch shows.. My husband has a play station and loves it and will play it for hours! Some games have interesting stories and then I enjoy watching and ‘helping’.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love Mario Kart.

      Oh, you play the Sims? I’ve heard about it, but never actually played it.

      Hehe, I laughed the “helping”. I know that feeling. I grew up watching my older brother play and “helped” him too.

      I held the dungeon maps and would read, “The Player’s Guide says go left. oh, watch out! Hit the B button! Hit the B!”

      Ah, memories…

      Like

Leave a Reply

