The Hina Matsuri (Doll Festival) In Japan

dsc07761Don’t ask me, I’m just a doll.

dsc07779

Here, I’ll explain.

My husband and I went to a Hina Matsuri in Chiba Prefecture.  The Hina Matsuri, or Doll Festival, is celebrated on March 3rd and is considered a “Girl’s Day”.

Girls are celebrated on this day.

There are so many styles to the dolls throughout Japan, but the order of their arrangement is mostly the same.  The practice dates back over a thousand years to the Heian era.

The displays can be quite extravagant and detailed:

dsc07773dsc07769

At the top sits the emperor and empress.  Each tier is designated for a certain type of doll, descending in the rank of the court. At the very bottom tier are carriages and lamps and miniature items of court.

This was my first time visiting a doll festival ever in Japan.  I’ve always wanted to go. However, to get some of the photos I had to really stand my ground.  People were aggressive, especially the fathers.

There was this one father who shoved me hard to the side to plant his three kids in front of the display. Never even said sorry.  Then he blocked my shot.  His wife did the same on the other side.

I was very tempted to stand in their shot just to be obnoxious. However, they left after the minute and I let it go.  Others were given them scowls, so their bad behavior was noticed.

I’m amazed at how expressive the dolls all are. Their creator must have put loving detail into each one. You can spend big money getting the whole set and all the items. It’s like barbie for a $$$$.

dsc07762dsc07763

From Japan, have a great Girls’ Day!  Be a doll!  ^^

8 thoughts on “The Hina Matsuri (Doll Festival) In Japan

Leave a Reply

