Tis’ The Month For Shopping

At every store or mall I go to there are huge banners promising 50% or more. Shoppers are everywhere, hunting for bargains.

After New Year’s is the shopping seasons when all the places do major discounts. This is the best time for shopping in Japan. The problem for me is that there is nothing I really want, except chocolate.

And dangit, Godiva is the one place not doing discounts.

#lifeisnotfair.

After New Year’s Day all the Japanese stores do Lucky Bags or Fukubukro.  This is part of “Hatsuuri” or the First Sale in Japan where you can buy a “Lucky Bag”.

The idea comes from that the god carries around a bag filled with luck.

There are a variety of items in the bag that are at discount. You have a chance of getting a really rare and high quality item. (Most of the time you get so-so stuff).

Getting a Lucky Bag at a popular store is difficult as shoppers wait for hours to get one.  Recently, a lot of foreigners seem to be noticing more and more of this “Lucky Bag” phenomena.

Bags containing nothing but unwanted items are called “Misfortunate Bags”.  Stores that have nothing of real value to offer will actually name their bags this and offer them at super low prices.

So that’s the background.

I’ve only once gotten a Fukubukuro and I’ll really didn’t care much for it. It’s not because the contents of the bag were bad, but it’s more of because I’m picky. I like very specific items.  The problem for me with Lucky Bags is they don’t give exactly what I want.

I end up with things I don’t need and that clutter up the place.

I’d rather pay the higher price for the specific item I want than chance that I have a 20% of getting it in a Lucky Bag if I buy it at this story.  Then again I never have enjoyed gambling, even when I dabbled into during a game of Texas Hold’Em with friends.

I just don’t see the point of spending $300 for a bag of high brand stuff that probably is filled with 50% of stuff I don’t want or need.  Maybe I’m just weird?

12 thoughts on “Tis’ The Month For Shopping

  1. Suan: lol and so envious. We don’t have such offers as much here somehow! Perhaps the retailers are a little less generous…Mel have friends who travel to Japan almost every year’s end and bring backs lot of this bags of goodies. No “misfortunate” bags so far…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Unfortunately, not knowing exactly what’s inside the bag is considered gambling in my religion, so I never bothered with the lucky bag. However, last month I bought a Japanese magazine (Sweet) even though I don’t know how to read it, just because I wanted a free purple Luria 4C handbag. It cost me 920 yen. Since then, I had met 3 people carrying the same handbag. 😀 Now, I’m waiting for the next issue to get another purple Jill Stuart handbag. I don’t really care for branded goods, I’m usually attracted to things by their colours.

    As for chocolates, I like to buy them from either Carnival in Gakugei-daigaku or Kaldi stores. My kids love Hershey’s Kisses.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, so I was right on my feeling that Lucky Bags feel like gambling. I don’t care for gambling, but that’s more of personal preference for me. (and I have no luck at it).

      Oh, sounds like you got a good deal on the bag!

      Yeah, branded goods (especially in fashion) have never impressed me that much. Although there are a few brands I like (if the quality really is there).

      Hershey kisses are always yummy. I’m a fan of anything chocolate ^^

      Liked by 1 person

  3. some bags nowadays are open or they have a sample where you can see what is inside.. but still most of the stuff you might not need or not like.. I think it is part of commercial strategy to sell unsold items 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. not weird at all, I’d agree. The past while I’ve just gotten annoyed at the amount of clutter I’ve accumulated over the years. When I was younger I’d often buy clothes that were reduced because they were such a bargain but then hardly ever use them because maybe they didn’t suit me that well or whatever. Now I would much rather buy less items but just things I actually want and love.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

