Top Ten Fictional Stories that influenced my childhood

When I was young (staring around five) I wanted to read everything my dad read. My father relaxes by reading fantasy and scifi. He has boxes and boxes full of books. The covers were all fascinating.

As a child, I would ask him about the stories he read and he would fold and ear into the book and start telling me about the story he had read so far. Through him I was transported into the worlds of Larry Niven, Robert Heinlein, and countless others.

It frustrated me that I couldn’t read like he could.  My schools wanted to assign me children’s book — children’s books!  The nerve!  I wanted to read like my daddy.  His stories sounded cool.

Instead I got stories about kids going about their day to day life at school.  Boring!

I tried and tried to read way beyond my level and couldn’t.  My first attempt to read Frank Herbert’s Dune went down in flames — I was seven and only got through the first paragraph after an hour of reading and using a dictionary.

My father and I have always been close. As a child, he was my hero. No matter how busy he was assembling some shelf my mother had assigned to him, he would talk to me and listen.

Eventually, hearing his stories created a burning desire inside myself to write my own stories. Never once was I discouraged, he would just ask for more and offer suggestions.  My father loved science, and hard science fiction more than anything.

So I came to as well. That was why I studied biochemistry in college.  Still my love of fantasy burned just as strong.

Some of my fondest memories are sitting by my dad while he built or repaired a piece of furniture and I told him of the latest story I had come up with. Sometimes I told about starship captains or quests to destroy the Great Evil.  Often my main characters were female — simply because I was probably inserting myself into the stories — and he would eagerly listen and ask me to finish the story.

When I was a teenager I discovered Japanese anime and Sailor Moon and DBZ.  These were the stories and shows that influenced me as a child and a teenager and even into my college years:

12. Gary Gigax

sagaofoldcitycover

11.  The Simpsons

simpsons_familypicture

10. The Shining

shiningnovel

9.  The Foundation

foundation_and_empire_cover

8. Wheel of Time (when it was still good)

wot01_theeyeoftheworld

7.  Princess Monoke

princess_mononoke

6.  The Twelve Kingdoms

the_twelve_kingdoms

5.  Dune

anon-d0bad0bdd0b8d0b3d0b8-d181d0bed0b2d0b5d182-1234318

4.  Sailor Moon

sailor_moon_another_story_cover

3.  The Original Star Wars

starwarsmovieposter1977

2. The Dragonriders of Pern

190px-annemccaffrey_dragonflight

1.  The Lord of the Rings

first_single_volume_edition_of_the_lord_of_the_rings

My favorite stories are always about the Great Baddie who tries to turn the Great Goody into a Baddie. I am a sucker for “join me and let’s rule together” stories. Those can take on many forms, whether the bad boy trying to corrupt the good girl, or the Dark Lord trying to turn the Big Hero.

What about you?  What type of stories do you like?

(Oh, and this blog past a 1,000 views!  I can’t believe it.  That’s really exciting to me. Thank you everyone!)

 

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Fictional Stories that influenced my childhood

  1. Yes fantasy stories were the fascinating reads of our youth too…because it gives much more imagination. Some have compared movies against the books written and found adaptations unsettling. Do you have an issue with this?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

