Warning: Off-Color Humor

I’m going to tuck this behind the read link. I hope this doesn’t offend anyone.  Most of the people I know have found this humorous.  A couple months back Japanese news made quite the interesting slip up. I didn’t get the screenshot, but I thought I’d share what happened.


What was going on:

The US President, Obama, was visiting Japan in a historic visit to Hiroshima.  John Kerry, Ambassador Kennedy, and some guy named Kishida were all going to be part of a big meeting.  Pay attention to those last names.

What happened:

I walk into the living room while my husband is watching the Japanese news and see this headline written in both English and Japanese:

Obama meets the KKK.  

I pause, blink a couple times. Turning to my husband, I ask, “Did I miss something?”

He looks at me in confusion.

“Obama meets the KKK?”

My husband nods and explains that he is meeting, “Kerry, Kishida, and Kennedy”.

“Ah,” I said. “But doesn’t the headline seem a bit wrong?”

He stares in confusion as the news switches to another topic.  Then he looks at me.  “What’s wrong with it?”

“Um… nothing.”  I leave the room at that point, sipping my caffe latte.

Oh boy, Japanese news.  I don’t think they had any idea when they wrote that headline.  They thought they were being clever turning the Ks of those three people into an acronym.

So that’s my off-color story.  I thought it was amusing in its innocence.  I wish I’d been quicker to grab my camera and snap a photo of this “historic meeting”.

Leave a Reply

