On Disliking Your Own Voice

I’ve yet to meet someone who loved the sound of their own voice.  I’m sure they exist. I can’t believe James Earl Jones doesn’t love the sound of his own voice.

However, in common life I’ve never met a person who doesn’t cringe when they hear their voice.  I personally hate mine.  I enjoy editing videos for You Tube. While I’ll never be big and I’ll be lucky to ever have a video crack a 1,000 views, I enjoy editing.

I do that for fun.

What I can’t stand is the sound of my own voice.  Even when I am okay with how the rest of the video turned out, I find myself wanting to mute my own voice.  My favorite videos are the ones without it.

I sound high-pitch and shrill, at least to myself.

Then again, everyone winces when they hear their voice and has that expression of “make it stop!”.

The minute you say, “I hate my voice”, it turns into a competition as others discuss how your voice is not as horrible as theirs.  Seriously, listen to my you tube videos and tell me I don’t sound appalling.

I dare you.

Leave a Reply

