Romantic Japanese Pension Stay

Here is the video of our stay:

Romantic Pension

Romantic music playing the background? A candlelit dinner for two? Five courses of amazing food? Wine? Cocktails?

What’s the special occasion is this?

Well, none actually.

It wasn’t even Valentine’s Day. My husband’s birthday was a week away so we pretended it was meant for him.

The pension owner decided to treat us. Here is the story of our romantic pension stay.

“Can you feel the love toniiight? ~ ”

   — Elton John

 

Mountains Around Hakuba

We went to Hakuba (more on that in a separate post). The drive was gorgeous and full of tunnels (more on that later as well). Hakuba is the town where many years ago they held the Winter Olympics in 1998.

Every winter skiers from all over the world come here, its considered one of the best ski resort towns in Japan.  Australians especially love to ski and snowboard in the Japan Alps surrounding Hakuba.

It’s a lovely town with some pretty strict rules. When we stopped at a convenience store, I saw a list in English of all the “no-nos”.  The town has a curfew and you can’t sell alcohol after 2 am. Also, unlike most place in Japan, you can’t carry open alcoholic beverages around.

My husband booked us here:

The Pension “Eternal Flame”

Inside the Pension.

Attention to Detail

Manga For Guess to Borrow

Ha!  Separate beds.  Pretty common in Japan. One reason is because the doorways are very narrow and queen-sized beds don’t easily fit through.

We had our own bathroom, but most of the guests have to use this common area for brushing their teeth.

Every details has been thought of.

The bathing area is downstairs and has more than one shower area. This is for if a family wants to bathe together. There is even a little onsen bathe just to the right of the picture.

When it was time for our dinner, they led us to a private room set up with romantic music playing and candlelight.  I think this was my first candlelight dinner ever.  I may have gotten a *little* giddy.

Our first course was delicious. I could tell we were in for a treat.  I felt the butterflies batting around in my stomach.  Not so much for the romance of the occasion, but my excitement for the food.  I suppose that’s a little strange. I love my husband, yet I love eating great food almost as much.

Oh, I miss that soup. It was carrot pottage.  Divine.

Baked fish with a light curry sauce

I forget the cocktail I ordered, but it had orange juice in it and you twirled that stick to mix the alcohol on the bottom.

One picture was not enough to honor this dessert.

All right so we were both tipsy by the end. We tried several cocktails and wines. The owners really made us feel special. This was also my first candlelight dinner. I’m not really one for big romantic gestures. I think love is felt in the small things a person does for you.

My husband is similar.

The most romantic thing he has ever done for me — the thing that moved my heart the most — was when I was very ill and he stayed through the night beside my bed in the hospital. He works long hours at times in Japan, but he always tries his best to be home.

To me that is real love.

I think you could have a person who every valentine’s day showers you in roses and flowers and sets up candlelight dinners. A person who never forgets an anniversary and always buys you jewelry and yet still isn’t there for you when you need it.

When you’re hurting because you lost someone precious and you turn to them for understanding, they simply get uncomfortable and say, “Uh-huh”.  All they know how to do is big gestures.  Love is color by numbers to them.

Flowers? check. Chocolates? Check. Fancy date? Check.

I think love is shown is small things.  Tender moments like this.

Leave a Reply

